top of page

Rio Grande City Elected Officials Take Oath of Office

Newly elected Flor E. Flores (Commissioner Place 1) and re-elected Hernan Garza, III (Commissioner Place 3) were officially sworn into office on May 16, 2018 at Commissioner’s Chambers located in City Hall.

“I would like to thank my family and all the voters for the confidence you have placed in me. I will do my very best to execute my duties and represent the City of Rio Grande City,” said Commissioner Flores.

Commissioner Flores becomes the first woman elected to the City of Rio Grande City

Commission since the city incorporated in 1993. She replaces Dr. Arcadio Salinas for

Commissioner Place 1.

“I’m not going to say I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and get to work, because since serving as commissioner for the City of Rio Grande City, I’ve never let my sleeves down,” said Commissioner Garza. “Rio Grande City is moving forward and thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve four more years.”

The City of Rio Grande City is a Home Rule city. Members of the City Commission include:

Mayor Joel Villarreal, Commissioner Hernan Garza, III, Commissioner Flor E. Flores,

Commissioner Rey Ramirez and Commissioner David “Chachi” Jones.

For more information about Rio Grande City and to view the Swearing-In Ceremony, visit RGC TV at or visit the City Facebook page.



bottom of page